Tags

, , , , ,

One of my new, favorite changes! (My dining room is set for a mini-overhaul and I couldn’t be more excited!)

Disclaimer; I had to get reallllly creative with these pictures; the baby is sleeping and instead of doing a thorough cleaning, I just angled the camera to not catch the mess.  Such is my life.

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 1.13.32 PM

I didn’t want black, so I grabbed a small sample of my fave…Martha Stewert Seal from Home Depot (custom matched to Behr).  Added some non-sanded grout and stirred it up…voila!  Homemade Chalkboard Paint.  It’ll be gritty; just stir well and then lightly sand over if you have clumpy problems.  The ratio is a 2 tablespoons of grout to one cup of paint…I just eyeballed it.  I actually bought 2 samples so I can coat again if I need to, but so far so good!  I have 3 coats on the table.

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 1.13.44 PM

Really creative photography up there! Promise! Toys here, cords there…not enough time in the day to be a pro at this thing.

I can leave pep talks for myself in the morning. :)

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 1.28.06 PM

Honestly, my favorite part isn’t even the fact that I can doodle to my hearts content…it’s that it’s all slate-like.  Or zinc-ish. It reminds me of one of my favorite garden shops that has a slate-topped worktable.  It makes me happy! (And it’s a breeze to clean, promise).

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 1.14.09 PM

Look at that! I found a picture on my phone of a relatively clutter free room…shocker! The other things I’ve accomplished so far; moved the rug from the living room to under the dining table, and I actually turned the table around; I LOVE the orientation now.  Oh, and adding some real-life green!  I actually haven’t killed this plant yet! Few more details to work out, and the makeover-of-the-makeover will be complete. :)  For the moment!

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 1.14.27 PM

If you are local and have any interest in making chalkboard paint…I have a fantastic amount of grout to let you use.  Seriously; we could chalkboard paint the town, so let me know if you are interested!

linking up :)

Finding Silver Pennies

Heart and Home

