Tags

, , , , , ,

I love Darlene.  Y’all know that.  And when she and other fantastic bloggers put together Ditto Diy I couldn’t wait to come up with something…and what THRILLED my heart was the first participating month’s challenge was to paint something GOLD.    I’ve been embracing the gold a bit lately.

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 7.15.05 AM

I’m just days away from sharing my makeover-of-a-makeover for my dining room.  I needed something fresh for my buffet, so not only did IT get a makeover with a touch of gold, but I put together a little plan for the top and decided to include it in this par-tay.

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 11.58.29 AM

I still have some of that old farmhouse flooring that I used to make signs out of, and I came up with a design that my very handy dad executed; I wanted a planter for  succulents.  I’ve been adding some “live” green to my house lately and wanted a bit more, so the boys and I hit up the nursery and bought 9 little cheap/almost dead plants off the sale rack.  Cross your fingers for me!  Hoping these babies make it!

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 6.15.41 PM

I was originally going to paint a gold stripe down the middle, but wanted to get a bit fancier.  I thought I’d make a stencil on our laser machine…but what to write…I could go easy and write “Succulents”!  That’s it’s purpose, right?  Guess what?  I looked up the meaning because I knew we regularly use “succulent” to describe other things (food, mainly) but I was so delighted to realize that it also means “rich in interest”.  Winner!  Not only is this old scrappy flooring-turned-planter rich in interest; but I want to be rich in interest too.  What a goal, right?  It’s fitting, because it is resting under one of our family’s mottos that I have on the wall (which I’ll pop up in the next post or two…just have to clean this silly room!)  I love the idea of being a “rich in interest” family.   Oh, and the paint on that wood?  I’m crazy about it, because sometimes it’s a little barely-there, and then the light will hit it just right and it BLINGS.  (It’s Martha Stewart Golden Pearl Metallic Paint, by the way).

Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 5.48.23 AM

I also painted up these little ceramic flowers; I bought them years ago at Company C; they were bright blue and green which worked with my decor for awhile, but they’ve been hiding in the attic for a couple of years.  Thought this would be the perfect opportunity to paint them up and bring them out.  They got a bronzey-gold treatment.

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 12.00.04 PM

So there!  Totally meets my casual-with-a-little-bit-of-fancy decor style.

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 12.01.28 PM

I hope you come back!  Dining Room reveal coming ASAP.

Have a beautiful week!

