Tags

, , , , , ,

I just had the most lovely day with my mom. She decided I “needed a break” from all of this house/computer/craft craziness, so we took off to one of my favorite little towns; Belgrade Lakes. It’s a hop, skip and a jump away from our home, so we were there in no time and enjoyed our outing immensely. We ate at the Lazy Lab (pictures below), looked at some antiques next door (they were on lunch break, boo!), and then ended up with my “find of the day” which mom graciously bought as a housewarming gift. We picked it up at the Cozy Cottage in Oakland, which, for you Mainers out there, is an excellently priced antiques store. No tourist prices here; no siree. The gumball machine cost $20, which isn’t too shabby. And it reminds me SO MUCH of going to my grandparents house and getting peanuts out of their little gumball machine to go along with an icy cold coke. I’m so excited about it!

The Lazy Lab Cafe

Antiques

My “find”

Lovely Day! Until I came home to the news that no, we won’t be closing tomorrow, the heating system is going to cost $3200 to get up and running ($2300 of that in labor), the electric system will run $1000, we need to get one more contractor to the house asap to see how much it would cost to nail a piece of broken trim back up, and oh, by the way, why isn’t the electricity on yet? It has to be on before we approve anything!

Blahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

It’s at this point that you think “Is it worth it? Is this what God truly has in mind for us? Are these closed doors, or merely bumps in the road? What in the WORLD do we do?” So, for now, I’ve told Erick to take care of it. I’m going to follow his lead. He’s trying to track down bits and pieces of whatever…I’m just sittin’ here waiting on a call to see how much longer it will be until closing, if indeed there will be one.

In truth, even putting that money into the house, it’s still a complete bargain. But we have fees to pay for going past the closing date, and with the new info about the repairs and whatnot, I don’t even know if we will have money for appliances/flooring/necessary stuff when it’s all said and done.

YIKES!

I’m sad, but at peace, if that makes sense. I so desperately want a house, but it’s such an intimidating thing at the same time. My emotions are all a jumble. One thing I know? No matter what happens, or where we end up…

They are my home. And I couldn’t ask for anything more than that.

