Tags

, , , , , ,

So I’m reading Sisterchicks Go Brit by Robin Jones Gunn. (She’s one of my fave authors, and has been for years and years). One of her paragraphs from an aspiring interior designer was so inspiring to me; nailed it on the head, I guess you could say:

“It’s amazing how the decor of a room can affect how you feel about yourself and your surroundings. Maybe that’s why I love decorating so much. I love elevating people’s environment so that it elevates their feelings about themselves.” … “In a way it makes you remember that you are fearfully and wonderfully made. That’s what God says of us. I think we suppress our appreciation for the ‘wonderfully made’ part far too often”.

Yep, love that! Ms. Robin always comes through with some pretty wonderful quote-ables.

On the homefront…notice I’ve been absent from blogging for a few days? We’ve been truckin’ right along, from morning to night! I’ve really had fun-taken a break from scraping walls and carpet pads, and I’ve helped lay flooring; wood and tile. Erick and I make a good team-I’ve truly enjoyed working alongside him instead of in separate rooms on different projects. And I’ve officially glued together PVC pipe, layed grout, worked with the jig and chop saws-much fun, I tell ya! Here’s a picture of what the flooring throughout the house looks like now. We only have a small landing left to lay the floor on, then we’ll stain the original hardwood floor in the kitchen to match the rest of the house.

Erick has to seal the grout in the bathroom today, then I’ll post some before and after pictures. I’m LOVING the bathroom and how it’s going to turn out. Yay!

Annnnnddddd….our escrow money is starting to roll in. Which means appliance shopping this afternoon! Mom and dad have company coming in one week from now, and it’d be a pretty tight squeeze trying to fit us all in here, so we hope to be at the new place before next Wednesday. Eeek!

Oh, and one last HUGE thank you to dearest Nicole from Breaking Even, who sent me some amazing music mixes. You are such a DARLING, girl! I’m now an official fan of Carla Bruni! And I couldn’t be more ecstatic about the mix of Diana Krall/Pink Martini/Jamie Cullum/Madeline Peyroux (and so many others…I’m listening to it right now and can’t recall everyone who is on it, but suffice it to say-it’s my new happy cd!) Without tv and with limited radio reception, it’s just by happy accident that I find new artists that I enjoy. And I’m so happy to have found so many at one pop. šŸ™‚

Erick’s home! Time to go shopping, woohoo!

