Tags

, , ,

That hiatus didn’t last long, did it?  Fortunately for me, Grammie took the boys and I’m going to spend a portion of my time on the blogging front, guilt-free.

And I am fairly bursting to share a new book with you.

Erick’s boss loaned him this book, and it was another breeze-through for me, although I want to buy it and read it again.  And again.  And again.

Thought provoking, mind-blowing.  I cried, and I laughed; it was so incredibly profound, in so many places.  It absolutely affected me more than any other work of fiction has.  I’ll have to steal some review quotes; the first made me laugh but totally sums up what I’m still feeling:

To sum up these experiences will take some time, but the gist can be easily described in my thoughts which often repeat its theme while reading The Shack…  Feedback overload!  System shutdown imminent!  Warning!  Warning!  Reboot! Jim Hawley

That might sound silly, but there were  so many ideas brought forth that I had a hard time wraping my mind around, but which really made sense the longer I thought about them. I thought this explained it well also:

Riveting, with twists that defy your expectations while teaching powerful theological lessons without patronizing. I was crying by page 100. You cannot read it without your heart becoming involved. Gayle Erwin

There is a website devoted to the book  that has a forum for discussion, which is fabulous because it definetily warrants conversation.  Erick is reading it right now; I’m chomping at the bit for him to finish so we can talk about it.

It’s another book that I would recommend to every reader out there; if you do pick it up (please, please!) I would love to hear your thoughts.

