Tags

,

Not much has changed since my last post!  We did take a break and enjoy the hometown festival last Saturday-parade, carnival, fireworks.  I’ll share some pictures at the end.

In the meantime, I’m sure Erick would appreciate some prayers-he’s a bit overwhelmed what with his master’s class, and summer school starting next week, and working on the house.  He’s my superman.

I’m still working over at the house we are going to move into, and for those who don’t know, it is Ms. M’s.  She was transferred to a nursing home last week, and although it was a step none of us wanted to take, my parents came home from a visit with her yesterday and ya’ll, God’s hand has just been guiding every step!  She was on a downward slope there for awhile, but in the 5 days or so that she has been at the nursing home, she is showing such improvement that she is on track for moving to assisted living!  Praise God!  And her attitude is wonderful, too.  Her dementia is still bad, which rules out living on her own anymore, but she is at peace with that.  And for those who know her well, you know that is a big step!

It was a wish of hers that as soon as she couldn’t live at home anymore, my parents would move right in.  They, of course, have their own place, so it made sense for Erick and the boys and I to come back home.  She loves the idea of the boys growing up there, and so do we.  So I’m working on making it ready to move into, and as soon as we sell our place, we’ll buy hers.

Although it was hard at first, boxing up her things in order to make room for our own, I can’t tell you how much I’ve actually enjoyed learning more about this incredible lady.  It’s been emotional, but such an learning experience and history lesson!

Ms. M is tireless.  I think that is what is the hardest thing for her now-her body can’t keep up with what her heart longs to do.  One thing about the dementia-she always thinks that she is scheduled to “do” something.  It is because she never rested!  My word.  She substitute taught until she was 75 years old.  She was the ultimate volunteer and entertainer.  One day a couple of weeks ago, while it was raining cats and dogs outside, she told me she was sure that she had to tend to a booth at the park.  I assured her she did not, and that it was a good thing seeing as though she would get drenched in the process.  Yesterday I found a photo album filled with pictures and newspaper clippings from when she was the grand marshall in our hometown parade.  It mentioned she rode the car right to Manson Park and then tended booths for the rest of the day.  (Clicked with me then-she was thinking about tending booths years ago during the carnivals…) Her pictures make my heart glad-she has a plethora of books filled with photos of get togethers at her house.  She is so inspiring-I have longed to be a “hostess”, and seeing all of the fun that has gone on at that house makes me excited about what is in store.

Anyway, I could go on for ages, and probably will in future posts, about how amazing she is.  Right now it’s time to post pics, then eat.  Have a good weekend, ya’ll.

walking to the parade

walking to the parade

family ride on the merry-go-round

family ride on the merry-go-round

feeding of the goats

feeding of the goats

jack said the fireworks were "color-ie" and "boom-ie" :)

jack said the fireworks were "color-ie" and "boom-ie" 🙂

