Tags

, , , , , ,

The school year begins in a week and a half (NO!) but even though this summer took turns we weren’t prepared for, and has been chock full of labor, we have managed to escape here and there (MINUS my husband, who has had no choice but to be a workhorse, bless his heart, but whose Master’s Class ended yesterday, so there is a little break, and whose Summer School ends this week, so next week we are takin’ a vacation, baby, because he Deserves Rest!)

Last week we zoomed down to Belfast around 10 or so and returned a little after 3. It was an extra-humid day, but the breeze off the water was glorious. The boys started throwing rocks, then dipped their feet in, THEN went all out and soaked their little bodies once they saw some Big Boys jumping off a dock and swimming around. After they had been in awhile, we saw some clouds approaching and heard a rumble of thunder, so I said “time to get out!” and before they were on the shore, the rain started falling. It was wonderful and hilarious. We ran under a tree (I know that is a no-no, but this wasn’t a lightening kind of storm, and we had no choice of another place to dry off). They were stripped down, rubbed dry and clothed again, then we made a mad dash to the car and made our way home. Absolutely lovely day.

Nonnie wading with the boys, Papa looking on

Nonnie wading with the boys, Papa looking on

The boys, a few years from now!

The boys, a few years from now!

Practicing our swimming strokes

Practicing our swimming strokes

A few days later, while Grammy kept the boys, Dad, Mom and I headed to the Maine Boat, Home and Harbor Show in Rockland. I have to admit, the “Home” part is what hooked me, because we don’t have a boat. Although, my parents DID, along with another couple, own two different sailboats in New Mexico (how is THAT for irony?! Sailboat ownership in the midst of the desert?) Dad and I were discussing our sailing adventures at Ute Lake which brought back pretty funny memories; I do believe that is when we deemed ourselves the Dork Family. Completely novice sailors owning sailboats…can you guess how many times we capsized and had near catastrophes? (But it was fun!) Anyway, once we arrived in Rockland I was completely taken with the boats. Oh My Word. And the Yachts…I have to admit that I’ve always though of yachters as a bit high falutin’. After seeing the yachts, up close and personal…I’m pretty sure I would high-falut myself if we were in that particular tax bracket!

flags on the dock

flags on the dock

good eats!

good eats!

I'll take this for my porch, please!

I'll take this for my porch, please!

well-worn and colorful

well-worn and colorful

Below; craftmanship at it’s finest!

DSCN1861

DSCN1878

DSCN1862

DSCN1867

DSCN1882

DSCN1883

The weather was stunning, although around lunchtime a summer squall swept through and dumped gallons. But it was over quick as it came, and the Windjammers were able to sail in! They came right up by us in full sail; even seasoned sailors were impressed with their skills. Check out this beauty!

DSCN1870

and this one;

DSCN1872

One of my favorite aspects of the day was listening to the entertainment. After hearing this group, I am totally tempted to move to Machias and take up the ukulele. They were SO FABULOUS! They sang their hearts out and knew absolutely every song the audience requested. They were full of joy, and spread that joy around. It was contagious.

groovin'

groovin'

look at the fun he's having!  he was my favorite. :)

look at the fun he's having! he was my favorite. 🙂

Well, ya tired of boats? I guess I’ll wrap it up here. I have quite a bit of cleaning to do this morning, then I’m headed to our house in Dexter to get some work finished there. Stay tuned; I’ll share a bit about our new place next post!

