Tags

, , , ,

Many of my blog friends have often participated in Blue Monday, and after I wrote this post I thought…maybe I could, too! I have some blue thrown in here! So, Ms. Smiling Sally and friends, I hope this qualifies, and welcome if you have never been here before!

Picture 13

***

I’ve you’ve ever had the chore pleasure of cleaning out the house of a 91 year old sweetheart (who is still doing very well in her new home, by the way), you probably know that it’s a tremendous job. A tremendous job, with a few amazing moments thrown in for good measure! For every 10 bags of old newspapers and receipts from the 1960’s, something lovely is waiting underneath the next pile.

Although Ms. M’s house is decorated right out of the 1970s, she very wonderfully held on to some home decor from an earlier age. An earlier age that I am in love with. While the Man of the House tends to a more traditional, classic style of home decor, I’m a sucker for vintage/retro/bright/graphic. So while I want to make my hubby happy, and will, here and there I’m going to throw in a few good punches of “me”.

I’ve always loved old tablecloths, and was dancing a jig once I found these:

iron that baby and it'll be good as new!

iron that baby and it'll be good as new!

close up

close up

Here is another...

Here is another...

I love the blue!

I love the blue!

Doesn't even appear it was ever used...

Doesn't even appear it was ever used...

And this hand towel (?) is most assuredly going to become a pillow:

one end

one end

the other end!

the other end!

Ms. M was a full time teacher back in the early 50’s, and then substitute taught clear in to her 70’s (or was it 80’s? I think it was 80’s!). I’ve uncovered a hoard of school supplies from her full time teaching days, which is a goldmine since I plan on homeschooling the kids! She taught early elementary, so I have plenty to use. I found a box full of vintage school posters which I will share soon-most of them are “drink your milk!” posters, and there are a few good nursery rhyme ones in there too. Her husband was the manager of the local A&P grocery store, so I’m assuming the following poster came from him. I don’t know, but I love it, and it’s going in the boy’s room. No question!

Everyready Flashlights and Batteries Ad

Everyready Flashlights and Batteries Ad

Isn’t that the sweetest thing?

Well, since we are talking vintage, I’ll go ahead and post more Nora. Actually, she’s definitely more of an antique by now! (For the previous letters, click on the Nora category to the right)

Letter Number 4

Picture 7

Picture 8

Picture 9

Picture 11

Those poor Eyetalians and Poluticians…

Thanks for visiting today!

