Tags

, , ,

If you are reading this, there is a reason. I don’t care if you are a regular, or happened upon this post by accident…there is a reason. And I believe the reason is this: you need to read this book. I can hardly put into words how extraordinarily excited I am about Primal by Mark Batterson. It’s the latest book I have received from Water Brook Multnomah, and although this sounds rather silly, I definitely judged it by it’s cover.

Not to go all girly on you, but it looked rather, er…manly to me. So it sat around for a few days, until I picked it up one evening and decided to read a couple of chapters. It was around 8:00 pm…and I didn’t set it down until I finished at 11:30pm. About 1/2 way through the book I finally got smart and asked Erick for a highlighter from his stash, so I could mark all of the profound things I kept coming across. And the NEXT night I read it through again…so I could mark some more. Hardly a page goes by without some garish orange going on, and even some maroon crayon (from whence I misplaced the highlighter. Oh man. Just realized I doubt I misplaced it-I bet one of the boys took it. This could be bad).

I am so nuts about this book that I’m actually having a hard time letting it out of my sight. I keep referring back to it. Keep cracking it open and rereading passages. And highlighting more. YES, it concerns Christianity. But I am positive that you do NOT have to consider yourself a Christian to enjoy this book. To me, it was about changing the world. Acting on those God Ideas that pop in your head. An incredibly honest, convicting, and compelling book to read no matter who you are, or what you believe; if we all took some of the suggestions in this book and ran with them, incredible things could happen. I have no doubt.

I know I’ve been rather vague in what the book is exactly about, but I’ll give you a hint:

Compassion

Wonder

Curiosity

Power

That just scratches the surface of the awesomeness of this book. Please, please do me a favor and make this either the last book you read this year, or the first book of 2010 on your agenda. And then get back to me. And we’ll discuss. And perhaps, we’ll change the world together.

