Tags

, , ,

I think the excitement and joy of the season has about worn me out…but it’s a good worn out!  I’m sleepily contented, albeit a bit bleary eyed.  Yesterday morning I was cleaning up after making Jack a pb&j.  I grabbed the jelly and put it in the cabinet-fortunately remembering that it went in the fridge instead.  So what did I do?  I put the jelly down, picked the peanut butter up, and proceeded to stick it in the freezer.

So I need a nap.

But I’m just not good at napping!  I wake up terribly disoriented and have a hard time falling asleep at night if I nap.  But lately I’ve been having a hard time falling asleep at night anyway…Oh darned if I do, darned if I don’t.

…..

Did everyone have a good Christmas day?  I’m loving that we are still in the midst of Christmas…day 4 in fact.  8 to go.  Right now I’m debating the whole taking-down-of-the-decorations.  I love them, and at the same time I’m ready for a fresh start.  Clean slate.  But I’ll miss the lights on the tree in a terrible way.  So I’m just not sure!  Might give it another day or two.  Or 8.

….

Santa bought our family a totally unexpected gift this year in the way of a Wii.  I’ve always been anti-video game, but I have to tell you that I’ve had a change of heart with this doo-dad.  Cold Maine Winters equal stir-crazy children, and this particular system is going to go a LONG way in getting that pent up energy out of the way!  And we’ve already had some terrific family tournaments-it’s actually bought us all together in a really enjoyable way.  And it is excersize…let me tell you!

(scuse the Christmas aftermath in the background there...)

I’ve worked up quite a sweat myself…between the Wii and the hula hoop that I received (totally requested, mind you, and terribly fun) this momma is going to get into a shape of some sort!

….

One gift that I would like to share is a picture of my grandfather that my dad made a frame for, so I can proudly display it on my eventual “gallery” wall.  (And Grandma…that’s a reminder to you to send those pictures mom mentioned to you!)  🙂

Grandpa was at the Chicago World’s Fair in 1933; he played trombone in the Texas Tech band.  I love so many details about this picture!  I couldn’t get a decent “full on” shot, but here are some snippets.

Grandpa is the trombone player in the middle. And look closely at the background-aren't the clothes spectuacular?

I think the drum major is great...and the people coming out of the building behind the band.

Anyway, my current plan is to gather  family black and whites, and maybe a few pieces of colorful art, and fill up a wall in my dining room.  I’m quickly realizing that I need more wall space in this house-there are too many good things to adorn my house with!  It’s hard to pick and choose!

Well, time to wrap this up and tackle a bit more of the Christmas aftermath.  And debate a little more on those decorations.  We’ll see what happens. 🙂

