Tags

, ,

At the end of every year, Erick puts together a DVD of pictures and videos and has them running to some really great music-it’s a lovely way to look back at our life and count our blessings.  Here are just a few highlights:

Our camping-on-the-beach trip

2 out of 3 of my lovlies...at Moose Point State Park

does my heart good 🙂

date with mom at the river

Ok, so those are a VERY few highlights.  I could go on for ages!  What a year…my babies are growing up.  Ryan is officially into Big Kid clothes…out of the “T” sizes.  Blew through 5T in a matter of minutes.  He’s turning 5 next week…Next WEEK!  Fortunately Jack is still a snuggle-bug momma’s boy and continues to climb into our bed in the wee hours of the morning.  I welcome it because it certainly won’t last forever.  They are so amazing my heart just wants to burst right through my chest at times.  And how fortunate I am to have Erick, and to have “had” him for a decade this year.  He’s my prince.  And to live next to my amazing parents, and to glory in the fact that I have the best mom-in-law ever.

My Cup Overflows!

And as to that look forward, I’m inexplicably excited about 2010.  I turned on the tv this morning, to a morning show, and they were talking about the frustrations of the public…with the government, with healthcare, with the economy.  But y’all, I’m excited!  God is going to do great things.  Let’s not dwell on frustrations, but look forward with expectancy, with anticipation of good things to come.

I love the way the Message sums up Philipians 4:6-9.  It’s one of my favorite passages in whatever translation, but this is a nice paraphrase:

“Don’t fret or worry.  Instead of worrying, pray.  Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns.  Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down.  It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious–the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.  Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized.  Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into His most excellent harmonies.”

I’m convinced that instead of being frustrated, we need to put our energies into being grateful for what we have, and giving whenever we can.  Giving words of encouragement, giving of our time, giving of our resources.  To our family, to our friends, to our community, to those across the globe.  That’s my goal for 2010.  I’m not exactly sure what course it will take, but it’s what I feel compelled to do, however it comes about.  So I’m excited!  And I hope you’ll join me in the excitement…

Happy New Year!

