Tags

, , , ,

I love car dates.

Recently Erick and I took an evening and grabbed food from our local, favorite cafe, and ate…in our car.  Then we drove to Waterville to visit the Dairy Queen, where we partook of a Peanut Buster Parfait…in our car.

Gives you time to focus on each other, being “confined” like that.  (Would you call it confined if it’s actually a good thing?)

Anyway, while we were sharing our dessert, I was reminded of a goal that I had when I was, oh, 12 or 13 years old.  Our family was driving to Albuquerque to spend the day in Old Town, and on the drive we pulled over at one of those big rest stops.  It included a Dairy Queen, and I distinctly remember thinking

Someday, when I have graduated and am on my own, I am going to stop at this rest stop on the way to Albuquerque to visit my boyfriend, and get myself a Peanut Buster Parfait.

It must have been a thought geared towards independence…towards adulthood…towards dreams…but it was definitely a GOAL.  Funny how that thought has stuck with me so long.  And the crazy thing? I don’t think I have purchased a Peanut Buster Parfait since that thought 18 years ago.

too hungry to take a picture before digging in...

So here I am, enjoying my PBP with my amazing husband of 10 1/2 years, in this wonderful land we call Maine, and we’ll drive home to our snuggly boys and tuck them into bed and thank God for this blessed evening we have shared together.

All I can say is, I am so glad I never reached that long ago “goal”.  This worked out much better than I would of *ever* dreamed.

