Tags

, ,

I was scrubbing the toilet this morning.  I hate that job.  Truly.

So I’m on my hands and knees, thinking about how much I hate to clean the toilet, and then I think about how much I really don’t like to clean floors either…you know, the normal, every day things that a mom has got to do.  Because ya gotta do what ya gotta do, for the sake of your beloved family and the gross-out factor that would come if you didn’t clean the toilet at least once or twice a week.  Or more, if you have boy children.

And a thought that strikes while I am cleaning the toilet is “oh man, what I wouldn’t give to have someone do this for me.”  Seriously, I almost teared up at the delight that would come if

a) Someone could scrub my bathroom once a week and

b) they could also mop my floors, while they are at it.

Pure joy, people.

And please follow my rabbit trail, if you will, because one thought leads to another, and they are all coming out in this post today~

One of my all-time favorite book series is The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith.

In the Botswana Culture (I love this), it is expected, if you can afford it, to hire a housekeeper/cook.  Not only is your time freed up to do what you are passionate about doing, but you are supporting someone else’s livelihood at the same time.  Brilliant!  Win win situation.  It’s not that you are lazy, it’s just that it makes perfect sense.

That’s all well and good, I think, but there isn’t any extra in our budget to hire someone to scrub my toilet or mop my floors, say nothing about cooking a meal or dusting the baseboards. However, I have always dreamed of having a little business of my own, and if all I ever made was enough money to pay someone else to clean for me, it would be totally worth it!

This is what a typical dream day would be for me:

  • Wake up, have a cuppa before anyone else is up and start my day right by reading some scripture.  Feel totally in tune with God and look forward with excitement to my day.
  • Wake the boys up and get them fed, then settle if for a couple hours of quality homeschooling.
  • Make a delicious lunch
  • Spend the afternoon creating…whatever I wish to create.
  • Actually enjoy making a gourmet meal for my husband (cooking is a whole other topic), and have it hot on the table when he arrives home
  • Spend time together after supper as a family, tickle wars or wii tournaments, whatever.  As long as we are together.

That is NOT my reality at this point, and this is partly why…

Honestly, keeping on top of things like this prevents me from being an on the ball homeschooling mom, and doesn’t leave a bit of time for a creative outlet.  Something’s Gotta Give!  Very often I focus on the boys and crafting, to the detriment of the house, but it is very hard for me to easily focus on anything else when my surroundings are a mess.  Argghhhh.

 

 

{So this leads me to the thought of the Proverbs 31 Woman, and would you like to know my take on that?

We know (for a fact) that it was written by a woman to her son.

I’m pretty convinced that the woman did NOT want to lose her son to a daughter-in-law, so she set up a completely unrealistic expectation for him; a fantasy wife/mother if you will.

Just sayin’. 😉 }


So if you have stayed with my rambling thoughts so far, what it all boils down to is that I’d love to have some help cleaning my house so I could be a worthwhile mother, artist, and semi-coherent wife to my husband when he comes home from work.  So someday…either the “works”, or we could start with the toilet.

I’d be thrilled with the toilet.

 

p.s. (and the floors).

 

