Tags

, ,

Parenting is hilarious.  Especially when you are sleep deprived!

Erick and I have not been sleeping well; our mattress is working a number on his back, and pregnancy just isn’t good for my sleep, period.  So around 2 am we finally nod off, but then the boys kick in their share of keeping us awake; it’s not like they are “bad” sleepers…they just make noise while they sleep!  Last night, Jack “woke up” twice in pretty quick succession; he’s dreaming out loud just like his brother started to do when he was 4.  Erick is fairly successful at rousing him and then putting him back to bed (most of the time…) Last night, when he woke up for the *third* time, Erick checked on him and yelled out to me that he believed Ryan had walked in his sleep and peed on the ottoman.  Sure enough.  That thing was saturated.  Which makes since; yesterday morning I noticed a suspicious spot on the ottoman cover but could not for the life of me figure out what it was.  Pee, obviously; looks like he’s making a habit out of it!  So we take off the cover and Erick carries it to the washing machine, pee dripping on the floor, and we are stepping in it, and it’s just so darn comical that I cannot stop giggling; even starting in with the snorts…holy moly.  Parenting is not for the faint of heart, but it sure is funny!

Anyway, yeah, so we are absolutely lacking in the sleep department, and our newborn hasn’t even made it into the outside world yet.  If you find us in the loony bin soon, you’ll know why.  😉

Other than that, we are slowly making progress on the house; 3 out of 4 of my dining room chairs are refinished; about 3/4 of my gallery wall is complete.  Erick started demolishing our bathroom today; we’ll see if that project gets completed before little mister arrives!

I WAS able to take a break last week with mom and dad; we did that MDI trip I was dreaming about; harbor hopping and window shopping.  Here are mom and I in Bar Harbor;  Luke along for the ride; 36 weeks!

The morning I left I told the boys that momma just needed a break; that in about a month I wouldn’t get a break for a long time.  Jack is like “why can’t you just take your break at the house with us?”  Haha.  And honestly, I love the time out and away, especially when we are in the shops browsing; I’m so glad I’m not having to reign them in.  But I’m always eager…VERY eager to get home at the end of the day and see their little faces.  Jack has backed down a little bit from his attitude and has started to be very loving again; I’m so interested to see how everything plays out when number 3 arrives.  They say every day that they can’t wait to meet him.

Today and Yesterday it’s been muggy, to say the least; 80ish with humidity…which for Mainers can be kind of hard to handle.  But Sunday was stunning; after church we took a picnic to Lake George with mom and dad.  Boys swam, we relaxed in the shade.  Topped it off with ice cream at Big Bills, then relaxed at home and had watermelon for supper.  It was one of those perfect summer days; just wanted to get it down for memories sake!

Alright, boys are home from VBS, which is the most exciting thing in the world for them.  Time to get them ready for bed and then settle in for my uncomfortable, heart-burn ridden, crazy night of trying to sleep.  I can handle anything for 3 1/2 more weeks, though, right?

