Tags

I used to think Chandeliers were pretentious.

I did.  Too frou-frou; I’m such a laid back colorful cottage type gal, after all.  But the last few years my tastes, as you know, haven’t evolved so much; they’ve expanded.  I need about 5 houses to fill all of my decorating desires.

One of my latest and greatest design “inspirers” has been Darlene; she writes at the fabulous Fieldstone Hill Design Blog, and her inspiration is a combination of “High Gloss Glamour and Farmhouse Simplicity”.  Her inspiration…has become a part of my inspiration.  {How many times can I used inspiration in a paragraph?}

Let’s just say…I’m keeping my eye out for a fabulous chandelier for my dining room now. 🙂

I adore Darlene; I really do.  She’s such an amazing, God-Loving girl, and when she opened up her blog for sponsors, and I started my little sign shop, I decided to ask her if I could put my little ad on her blog, and she graciously accepted. I’ve been looking for the right time to tell you about that, and then this morning I read her latest post and literally teared right up.  She just put into beautiful words the thoughts I had about design, but didn’t really, truly know how to express.  Let me copy them here for you:

“I am a Master Designer.

I love Beauty;
I see potential and I want to fill it with beauty.
I aim to create something beautiful that is worthy of joy.

Design is a high calling, one that can improve the lives of others, be a means to foster relationships, and add much joy to my family.

I appreciate fine and lovely things, but they are not my treasures.
I know what is truly important, and
I do not aim to “store up my treasures here on earth.”* 

I live to bring glory to God, the Ultimate Master Designer.
He created Beauty.
He created all beautiful things.
And, He created my passion for design, and set that joy in my heart.

Everything that I create,
and have created,
is because I myself was created by a Master.

I am a Master Designer.”

*{verse reference, Matthew 6:19}

Wow.  Isn’t that amazing?  It touched me in such a way that I added that little button over on my sidebar; in case you were wondering what that was all about.  I’m not a “master of design” as such; I do love to create beauty where I can, but I know what is of true importance.  I think that manifesto says it all.

Thanks {darlene} for everything; for giving me an opportunity to partner alongside you.  I love your heart!

