I’ve gotta say, I’m really impressed with Marietta and her design skills; when she moved in during the 70’s, she got right to work and everything was done up very well.  The drapes; handmade by a seamstress; all the details were well made and fine throughout the house.  I’m just shocked that everything stayed the same for so long; shocked and a little jealous.  I wish I could find something and stick with it!  Anyway, the kitchen now is as it has been for the last 35 years.  The only changes we made were decluttering (she had a tv in her kitchen, and a dishwasher in front of the radiator that you hooked up to the faucet.  And lots of miscellany).  Obviously, we’ve still got the clutter thing going on!  And no, I didn’t wipe the slate clean before I took these pictures; gotta keep it real.  It’s usually worse than this, I’ll tell you that.

fish mold, anyone?

Oh, and check out our light fixture that just konked out!  And our tiled ceiling! I’d love to buy a new light fixture; a fancy something…but can you imagine something classy up there with a pull string?  Haw.

Anyway, what I quickly came to realize (after snickering for awhile) was that this was fine design for the time, and it suited her well.  I’m always on the lookout for new ideas, however; something that would speak to who WE are.  One major obstacle is having that fridge stuck out there, and the only resolution I could think of was to have a counter-depth fridge put in to the right of the sink.  Not ideal, but it would make a little more room.  Where the fridge once stood, we could put a “bar” area; a nice countertop with some storage underneath and a place for stools.  I could picture it, but not…you know?  Then I came across one of Ashley’s Brilliant Idea Posts and almost died on the spot.  I FOUND our kitchen.  We’re talking a multiple-year plan, obviously, but Erick and I have discussed money saving options and we really think this could be beautifully done without an over-the-top budget. Are you ready for this?

Screen Shot 2013-03-15 at 2.08.30 PM

Heart. Singing.  Our ceilings are that high; we just need to remove the soffit. Cabinets that stretched to the top?  Good place for the juicer that hasn’t been used in ages, but hopefully will be again soon.  And the quesadilla maker that comes out once in a blue moon.  I love everything about this kitchen.  Only thing that we have that I like BETTER is that underneath our linoleum lie original wood floors that just need a good sanding and sealing. Big Fat Happy Sigh.  Like I said; multiple year plan, but it’s so nice that there is possibility!  I can rest easy now, seeing the potential.

Oh and yes, I’ll probably make a little special nook for that fish mold.  Hang it under the cabinets and frame it or something. 😉  Nod to the kitsch!

