Tags

Hello, sweets!

It’s been busy around these here households; mom, dad and I spent a good portion of the last week knockin’ out signs; dad is prepping, and mom has joined on the creative, painterly aspect.  We made some old stand-by’s and fulfilled some customs…I’ll tell you a secret; I do a little inside-my-head-yell-of-delight every time a new order comes in, no matter who I receive them from.  I can’t wait to share with you who a couple of these ladies I sold to are, though!

A smattering of the projects we worked on;

Ok, the news; I’m clean out of my first batch of wood that started me on this venture (the wood in the photos above); the batch that had been sitting around for a decade or so at my parent’s house…meaning that I pretty much didn’t have to pay for my supplies.  Thus; the idea was born; affordable art for everyone!  I never expected the orders would come in so quickly; I really thought I’d be giving away my signs for Christmas gifts.  However…that was not meant to be.  So here is the deal, my friends!

I’ve been experimenting with a way to make signs from wood that I get from the local sawmill (local as in a couple of minutes down the street!)  I’m excited about the outcome, but I am now having to pay for supplies.  So I’m going to up my prices just a bit; instead of $25 for in-stock and $30 for custom, I’m going to make everything a flat $30 from this particular wood.  Custom won’t cost a bit more, unless you want to up the size significantly.  Then we can talk!  This is what a sign looks like, made from the sawmill wood:

Not too shabby, right?  I really love how it turned out!  The boards were ripped down to the size of the original flooring, but we can also make them larger; as the old pine flooring below (close to 1 x 4)…just let me know your preference!

I do have another option for you; it’s a bit pricier because of the scarcity and labor put into cleaning it up.  For $40 a sign, you can have one made out of this authentic, old Maine Farmhouse flooring right here (the signs below are 10 x 13):

It’s so gorgeous and scruffy and unique; one of my big projects was a 6 piece made from this wood; here is a glimpse of it!

there is no pinkish hue in real life; don't know what's up with that!

  I can’t wait to show you the full reveal of that particular project!  This wood is, of course, first come first served; it won’t last forever.  And if any locals come across sources of old wood; flooring or not, I’d LOVE to know.  I’ve done a few searches and haven’t come up with much…or the cost is so outrageous it’s not worth it!

If $30 or $40 still sounds a bit out of your price range, I DO have other projects up my sleeve that I’m going to start on in the upcoming week. The anticipation has been keeping me up at nights even when my baby is sleeping.  Ack!

Would you mind subscribing to my blog?  I have many ideas that I want to let you in on, but they’ll be coming here and there over the next few months, and I would love your feedback…but I don’t want you to miss out on a post!  It’s not about “please, please read my blog!” but about “please, please let me know if these ideas are worth pursuing!”  I value your opinions oh so greatly.

Have a wonderful week, my friends.  I’ll be sharing some good Christmas giving/shopping options in the next post!

