Tags

,

*We still have room, girls!  Let me know if you are interested!!*

A Story to begin:

While I was emailing the owner of the now-booked vacation house, she ended a message with the salutation…

Great Good Cheer,  Anne.

And I fell in love with that particular little phrase!   Thus was born…

I’m so excited, friends!  Would you like a little glimpse of the house we’ll be staying in?  I thought you might!

And the view from the porch?

That’s the ocean right there, honey!  Nestled in a nice little cove.  The house was built as a vacation home, and sleeps 12.  Which means that we have, as of my teaser post yesterday, only 6 spaces left!

Please come please come, please COME! I’m going with first-come, first-served, but if you miss the boat this time around, rest assured that I’m also planning a June 2013 get-away.  OH yes.  I don’t know if it will be at the same place or at the same price; the details are yet to be worked out.  But I’m thinking the tail end of June would be delightful.  And age or “mom” status matters not.  If you are a woman, you need a fun break, right?

As for September…I’ve been making plans and hope you will love them as much as I do!  I’ll get to the cost, right away, then give you a “loose” agenda.

$155 for two nights lodging and most of your meals.  Included in the cost will be Friday evening dinner, Saturday evening dinner, and Sunday Brunch.  Plus an extra little surprise or two!  Food-wise, you’ll be responsible for Saturday Breakfast and Lunch.

Agenda:

Friday the 21st:  meet at the house at 4:30; shop the outlets in Freeport then gather at Antonia’s for dinner at 8:00.  {Antonia’s is ah.maz.ing. Something for everyone, and great atmosphere.} Wrap up dinner, head back to the house (or late-night shopping at LL Bean!) and hit the hay or talk all night.  Whatever you wish!

Saturday the 22nd:  Options are endless, my friends.  Portland is 15 minutes away; I’ll be spending my time there!  Shopping, lighthouses, museums, galleries…you name it.  If you have something specific in mind, I’ll be sure to research and hunt down exactly what it is you want to do.  Funny; AARP just listed Portland at the #1 Getaway…this was a decent little write-up, although it certainly has more going for it than being a foodie town!  We’ll try to get some small groups organized within the big group that have the same interests; (shopping group/sight-seeing group, etc).

We’ll meet back at the house for a home-cooked dinner; we should take advantage of the gourmet kitchen and Viking 6 Burner Range.  Yes, we should.

Sunday, the 23rd:  Sleep in, brunch together, be a bit lazy and out of the house by 3pm (or before; whatever fits your schedule!)  Oh, there is even a little boat available for rowing around the cove…could make for some fun stories. 🙂

Now I have to tell you, as much as I want to just spoil myself silly, it is HUGELY on my heart to spread the Great Good Cheer around.  I think we should throw in a few RAOK’s during the weekend. {Random Acts of Kindness, that is}.  Put your thinking caps on and I’ll put mine on, too.  They won’t detract from the fun, but they’ll certainly add to it. I’m feeling that we should start with a big ol’ tip Friday night (already worked into the cost of the trip) then see where our little ideas of generosity take us on Saturday.

So!  Here’s the deal; even if you have already given me the “I want to come!” line, please email me with your FOR SURE at mrsmurray16@hotmail.com to make it official.  I’d love to have your physical address and phone number, and I ask that as a confirmation, you send an initial check of $25 by May 31st.  The remainder will be due by August 1st, in order for me to pay the house rental fee in a timely manner.  You can pay it all in one shebang or  little bits at a time over the next few months; I care not!

Here’s the deal, though; in researching the way other weekends out and about the internets are handled, I’m going to say that your money will be non-refundable if you decide to back out, unless you (or I) can find a replacement.  If we  can slip someone else in your spot, then it will come back to you in full!  If not, I’m not going to make the rest of the ladies pay for it, so it’ll pretty much fall in my lap to cover your costs.  Eek.

So, you in?  If things fill up, remember that the June trip will be here before we know it.  I’ll keep you updated via the blog; let you know as soon as things are booked.  I’ve been praying God would put together the perfect group for this go-round.  And I’m sure He will.  🙂

