Tags

, , ,

Man, you guys, I’ve been up since 4:30…couldn’t really fall back asleep so I climbed out of bed and am slugging down some coffee.  This day should be interesting. 🙂

Alright, I’ve promised you some (new to me) authors!  My mom bought this book home from an antiques store; it caught her eye because it’s an author my grandmother always recommended.  I give you…Elizabeth Goudge.

Isn’t the book cover fantastic?  Typography and illustration win, in my opinion.  I could rave for ages about this particular book.  It was so good, in fact, that an award winning movie was based on the story; it starred Lana Turner and Donna Reed.  I’m hesitant to watch it, only because there is no earthly way a movie could begin to encompass this story.  It was so full of crazy love and adventure that it would merit a significant mini-series, at least.  😉

After Green Dolphin Street, I read The Rosemary Tree (which was, years after the fact, completely plagiarized by someone else) and I just wrapped up A Bird in the Tree.  In trying to describe her writing style, I think I would say it’s definitely multi-layered and very rich.  Beautiful descriptions and incredible truths.  For me, though, they aren’t “easy” reads; I really have to pay attention and not breeze through them in order to get the full effect.  Honestly, I’ve *almost* given up on every one after the first couple of chapters, only because I’m generally brain dead these days.  But I’m always so happy when I press on.   At some points I have to stop and catch my breath at the beauty of what she is saying…sounds crazy, but it’s true.  These books are keepers.  Purchase-and-underliners.  Intense and amazing.

On the flip-side, a couple of years ago I discovered Joanne Fluke.  They are honestly very fun, easy-to-read Murder Mysteries.  Full of really delicious, crave-inducing recipes.  I actually had to take a small break from A Bird in the Tree and read one of Joanne’s, just so my brain could unwind and bit and easily breeze through a book.  I need easy books in my life and I love her heroine, Hannah.  She owns a Cookie Shop and loves coffee and chocolate.  So of course I think she’s fantastic.  And the books are decent, which is another win; it’s not full to the brim of, errr…questionable morals.   AND I discovered Swedish Oatmeal Cookies thanks to her.  So here you go!

Swedish Oatmeal Cookies

Oven, 350 degrees

  • 1 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 cups quick oatmeal
  • 1 egg yolk

Melt butter, let cool to room temp and mix in sugar.

Add baking soda, flour and oatmeal, stir thoroughly.

Beat egg yolk with fork and add to bowl until incorporated.

Grease cookie sheet {I had no spray, so I used butter instead.  I’d recommend the butter.  Total win.}  🙂 Make small balls and press down with fork.  {DO this; you want them thin.}

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until brown around the edges.  Let cool for a minute or two then transfer to wire rack.

Y’all, I’m a soft and chewy cookie girl, but these are thin and crispy and crumbly.  And buttery and almost toffee-like.  Holy cow, are they good.  Some of the cookies I didn’t press down with a fork; and I didn’t like them as well as the really thin ones.  And I preferred the brown edged ones best, which is another unusual thing for me.

I think there are some crumbs left in the cookie jar; I might just go search them out after I press publish on this post!  I actually took pictures, but once I uploaded them, I realized that the boys not only had gone picture-taking crazy, but there were awful smudges on the lens due to the picture-taking boys.  Sigh.  So no pics.  Sorry!

It’s Friday!  And it’s 6:24 am.  And it’s sunny outside, praise the Good Lord.  Have a great weekend…and if you have any author recommendations, please share.  I’m always on the lookout!

