Tags

Poof!  You’d think my binder for the study had disappeared into thin air!  Borrowing my mom’s as a backup; no notes but it’s jogging my memory!  First off, here is the video for this study if you need it.

I love this little nugget in the lesson;

“Seeing life-your life-from God’s perspective is not only exciting and liberating, it is also the key to motivating you to live at full potential.  Since God loves unreservedly, He also wants the very best for all of His children.  So why is it that we, on the other hand, become short-sighted and settle for mediocrity when we should aim for excellence?”

Hmmm.  I love {yet again} the Message Version of Psalm 8.

1 God, brilliant Lord, yours is a household name.

2 Nursing infants gurgle choruses about you;
toddlers shout the songs
That drown out enemy talk,
and silence atheist babble.

3-4 I look up at your macro-skies, dark and enormous,
your handmade sky-jewelry,
Moon and stars mounted in their settings.
Then I look at my micro-self and wonder,
Why do you bother with us?
Why take a second look our way?

5-8 Yet we’ve so narrowly missed being gods,
bright with Eden’s dawn light.
You put us in charge of your handcrafted world,
repeated to us your Genesis-charge,
Made us lords of sheep and cattle,
even animals out in the wild,
Birds flying and fish swimming,
whales singing in the ocean deeps.

9 God, brilliant Lord,
your name echoes around the world.

That He created this stunning world astonishes me daily; and yet he created me with so much more importance than the beauty that surrounds me.  WOW.

In the Bible, many people wouldn’t even let God’s name pass from their lips because of their reverence for our amazing creator, and the study begged the question “Do you give Him the glory He is due?  Humbling, isn’t it?  We serve an incredible God!

Ok, honestly?  I’m writing this as all the boys are up and it’s quite frankly very loud; Luke is trying to bite Jack’s nose because Jack won’t let him have his hot wheels; Ryan just asked for something else to eat.  So I better sign off; higher hopes for our last Summer Psalms Study at the end of the week! 🙂

