Tags

, , ,

The Momma will Play!

Ok, I haven’t been able to blog hop much recently, so when I visited Danielle’s blog last night and realized that she was having a mantle party TODAY, I figured…what the heck.  Grandma was keeping the boys today, so it gave me a little bit of time to fancy up the place…and I’m committing the photography sin of photos in bad lighting…UGH! Pardon the shadows!  The un-sharpness!  The…yellowness! Obviously I need to add a tripod and photoshop skills to my Christmas list.  🙂 What can you do in the evening light; please forgive!  I’m not quite finished with the mantle yet, but here goes…

Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 5.51.25 PM

That TV shadow is driving me CRAZY.  Heck, the tv drives me crazy period.  Someday we’ll renovate our attic, move the boys up there, relegate the tv to the boys room-turned “study”, and I will finally have a nice piece of art in place of the tv.  15 years from now, that is. 🙂  In the meantime, we lasered out some stars on the machine and I took the paint and glitter to them for a Christmassy touch.  I’m living in a glitter mess.  Don’t you love glitter messes?  I do!!Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 5.51.39 PM

Quick shot of these vintage cuties; I stuck them upside down into the branches instead of hanging them.  I love them so.  Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 5.53.17 PM

Back to what we are here for! The mantle!

I put the silver Christmas balls in there last year.  They stayed all year…yup.
Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 5.52.56 PM

The Chalkboard is one of those 5 dollar cheapy door mirrors.  I’m not great at seasonal decorating, but I can change a chalkboard up easily! I didn’t even prime it; just put a couple of coats of the chalkboard paint on, painted the frame, and it works really well…has held up through quite a few chalky messages!

Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 5.52.45 PM

My mom made the nativity; it’s one of my favorite things.

Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 5.52.32 PM Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 5.51.54 PM

Stuck with the neutral stockings this go round; we’ll surprise the boys with these babies on Christmas Day!

Truth; the silver tinsel is definite vintage from the attic.  And I strung lights throughout it…and they don’t work.  I even checked before hand, but no such luck after the fact.  I
might get around to changing that; I DO think it would be pretty all lit up!  Is old tinsel flammable though?  LOL.  Better check that out first.  🙂

Alright, there is my quicky one day mantle for the year…thanks for hosting Danielle!!

Screen Shot 2012-12-11 at 6.28.27 PM

